Skip to content Skip to navigation

Faculty & Staff

For general questions, please email mwp@ucmerced.edu.

Merritt Writing Program Faculty

Name

E-Mail

Office Location

Mariana Abuan, MA mabuan@ucmerced.edu COB1 - 316
Marisol Alonso, PhD malonso4@ucmerced.edu

COB1 - 305

Rebeca Antoine, MFA rantoine@ucmerced.edu COB1 - 389
Daniel Ayala, EdD, MBA dayala32@ucmerced.edu COB1 - 324
Kara Ayik, MA kayik@ucmerced.edu COB1 - 389
Alexandra Block, PhD ablock2@ucmerced.edu COB1 - 339
Susan Bohrer, PhD, MSW sbohrer@ucmerced.edu COB1 - 322
Brigitte Bowers, MFA bbowers@ucmerced.edu COB1 - 387
John Bultena, MA, MLIS jbultena@ucmerced.edu COB1 - 334
Cindy Chavez, EdD cchavez27@ucmerced.edu COB1 - 314
Alicia Contreras, PhD acontreras44@ucmerced.edu COB1 - 319
Elizabeth Cunningham, PhD, MFA ecunningham3@ucmerced.edu COB1 - 325
Jordan Dakin, MFA jdakin@ucmerced.edu COB1 - 326
Jennifer Dean, MFA jdean4@ucmerced.edu COB1 - 327
Paula Treick DeBoard, MFA pdeboard@ucmerced.edu COB1 - 388
Heather Devrick, MA hdevrick@ucmerced.edu COB1 - 321
Nahrin Downey, MA ndowney@ucmerced.edu COB1 - 318
Michael Elkins, MA melkins@ucmerced.edu COB1 - 333
Sean Epstein-Corbin, PhD sepstein-corbin@ucmerced.edu COB1 - 326
Amy Fenstermaker, PhD afenstermaker@ucmerced.edu COB1 - 339
Christa Fraser, MFA cfraser3@ucmerced.edu COB1 - 338
Robert Garman, MA rgarman@ucmerced.edu

COB1 - 388

Justin Gautreau, PhD jgautreau@ucmerced.edu COB1 - 386
Pamelyn Gingold, MA pgingold@ucmerced.edu COB1 - 329
Erik Habecker, MFA ehabecker@ucmerced.edu COB1 - 333
John Haner, MFA jhaner@ucmerced.edu COB1 - 311
Thomas Hothem, PhD thothem@ucmerced.edu COB1 - 331
John Hundley, MA jhundley@ucmerced.edu COB1 - 314
Jacob Kelly, PhD jkelly7@ucmerced.edu COB1 - 319
Loretta Kennedy, MFA lkennedy5@ucmerced.edu COB1 - 330
Callie Kitchen, MA ckitchen@ucmerced.edu  COB1 - 318
Catherine Koehler, PhD ckoehler@ucmerced.edu COB1 - 301
Michael Koontz, PhD mkoontz3@ucmerced.edu COB1 - 324
Heather Lanser, MA hlanser@ucmerced.edu COB1 - 321
Gerald Lawrence, MFA glawrence3@ucmerced.edu COB1 - 334
Yia Lee, MFA ylee114@ucmerced.edu COB1 - 313
Phillip Lovas, MA plovas@ucmerced.edu COB1 - 336
Yogita Maharaj, MA ymaharaj@ucmerced.edu COB1 - 305
Tessa McIntire, EdD tmcintire@ucmerced.edu COB1 - 338
Derek Merrill, PhD dmerrill2@ucmerced.edu COB1 - 307
Susan Miller, MA smiller6@ucmerced.edu COB1 - 386
Daniella Mingua-Lopstain, MA dmingualopstain@ucmerced.edu COB1 - 337
Jeremy Mumford, MFA jmumford@ucmerced.edu COB1 - 317
Matthew Nye, PhD, MFA, M.Arch mnye2@ucmerced.edu COB1 - 331
Stan A. Porter, MA sporter4@ucmerced.edu COB1 - 340
Vanesha Pravin, MFA in Creative Writing, MFA in Theater Arts  vpravin@ucmerced.edu COB1 - 325
Christopher Ramirez, MFA cramirez24@ucmerced.edu COB1 - 309

Chloe Ray, MA

cray2@ucmerced.edu

COB1 - 316

Iris Ruiz, PhD iruiz4@ucmerced.edu  
Helen Sandoval, MA hsandoval2@ucmerced.edu COB1 - 327
Jessica Santillan, MFA jsantillan5@ucmerced.edu COB1 - 337
Nuno Sena, PhD nsena2@ucmerced.edu COB1 - 309
Brett Shanley, MFA bshanley@ucmerced.edu COB1 - 336
De Ette Silbaugh, MA dsilbaugh@ucmerced.edu COB1 - 330
Matthew J. Snyder, PhD msnyder8@ucmerced.edu COB1 - 340
Michelle Toconis, MA mtoconis@ucmerced.edu COB1 - 317
Dawn Trook, MFA dtrook@ucmerced.edu COB1 - 387
Kristine Van Bebber, MA kvanbebber@ucmerced.edu COB1 - 332
Baylynne VanWagenen, MA bvanwagenen@ucmerced.edu COB1 - 301
Seng Vang, MA svang39@ucmerced.edu COB1 - 307
Susan Varnot, MFA svarnot@ucmerced.edu COB1 - 391
Byron Webb, PhD, MFA bwebb@ucmerced.edu COB1 - 391
Jane Wilson, MA jwilson38@ucmerced.edu COB1 - 391
Angela Winek, MA awinek2@ucmerced.edu COB1 - 313
Frederick Young, PhD fyoung3@ucmerced.edu COB1 - 311

 

 

Administration

Name

Position

E-Mail

Office Location

Estee Beck, PhD Visiting Associate Professor
Director of Merritt Writing Program
ebeck2@ucmerced.edu

COB1-315

Samantha Tetangco Ocena, MFA

Associate Director socena@ucmerced.edu COB1 303
Iris D. Ruiz, PhD Assistant Director iruiz4@ucmerced.edu  

 

Staff

Name

Position

E-Mail

Office Location

Linda Hart Tolley Administrative Officer/Curriculum and Assessment lharttolley@ucmerced.edu COB1 - 322
Sandra Mora Personnel and Financial Specialist smora@ucmerced.edu COB1 - 323

Writing Studies Faculty

Name

Position

E-Mail

Office Location

Estee Beck, PhD Visiting Associate Professor
Director of Merritt Writing Program
ebeck2@ucmerced.edu COB1-315
Eileen Camfield, EdD

Teaching Professor

Faculty Associate for Writing and Pedagogy, Center for Engaged Teaching and Learning

ecamfield@ucmerced.edu ACS 152
Paul Gibbons, MFA

Associate Teaching Professor
Vice Chair of GAMWS (Global Arts, Media, and Writing Studies department)
Writing Minor Program Lead

pgibbons@ucmerced.edu ACS 147
Yiran Xu, PhD Assistant Professor yxu72@ucmerced.edu ACS 151
Anne Zanzucchi, PhD Teaching Professor
Associate Dean of SSHA
azanzucchi@ucmerced.edu COB1 - 239